Friday, January 31, 2014

All Saints Bay

Salvador - All Saints Bay

On November 1st, 1501, the expedition commanded by the Italian navigator Américo Vespúcio, by order of Pedro Alvares Cabral saw a "big and beautiful bay", which was named All Saints Bay because of the date: All Saints’ Day. That was the official birth of the biggest bay of Brazil.

Set in one of the most beautiful national sceneries, with its calm and crystal clear waters, involved by a historical atmosphere and the Atlantic forest contrasting with large mangroves, sandbanks and coral reefs, the bay is the starting point of the state that borrowed its name and keeps attracting tourists from all over the world with its enchants and magic.

Because of the rich nature that surrounds the bay, the Government created the All Saints Bay Environmental Protection Area, which comprehends the waters and the 54 islands that belong to the cities of Salvador, Madre de Deus, Candeias, Simões Filho, São Francisco do Conde, Santo Amaro, Cachoeira, Saubara, Itaparica, Vera Cruz, Jaguaripe, Maragogipe and Salinas da Margarida, a total of 800km² (497.1 miles) of nature in all its splendor, with good touches of history. (Search: GovernoBahia)

It is the largest navigable bay in Brazil and one of the most favorite spots for nautical sports, due to its regular breezes, medium annual temperature of 26 °C (79 °F) and sheltered waters. All Saints Bay (Baía deTodos os Santos) offers various leisure options, with hundreds of vessels of all different types, especially saveiros, schooners, motor boats, jet ski that criss-cross its crystalline waters on maritime excursions to the islands, and boat races. Major popular events and sport activities occur throughout the year, beginning on January 1, with the Procession of Bom Jesus dos Navegantes greeting the New Year.

The islands of the bay are a separate attraction. Some are privately owned, others were declared a state heritage and transformed into Environmental Protection Areas or ecological stations. Other islands are the patrimony of 12 municipalities located around the bay. Only a few are uninhabited and many have small communities where the natives live on fishing and tourism. All have common characteristics, such a calm sea, dense vegetation, especially coconuts and bananas, as well as vestiges of the Atlantic Forest. Of the 54 islands, the most important are Itaparica, Madre de Deus, Maré, Frades, Medo, Bom Jesus dos Passos.

Itaparica Island


No comments:

Post a Comment